On the 19th of September 1975 at 5pm in the Hotel Caribe in Cartagena de Indias, 30 Colombian professionals that work in Pharmacology in diverse regions and institutions in Colombia met together to create the Colombian Association of Pharmacology and establish new statutes the foundational agenda.

This foundational session was presided over by Guillermo Cano Puerta and Francisco Puentes was designated Secretary.

In that meeting, made possible thanks to the efforts of Joé Santos Umaña, professor of Pharmacology from the National University of Colombia (UN), past actions were acknowledged in favour of establishing a body which would organise professionals connected to the discipline of Pharmacology.  It was noted there that since 1961 professors of pharmacology from the UN had initiated and led moves towards the formation of this organisation.  As such, in 1961 the Colombian Society of Experimental Medicine and Pharmacology was created.  Amongst others, distinguished professionals such as Enrique Núñez Olarte, Gonzalo Montes, Francisco Puentes and Alfonso Matallana contributed significant efforts that led to the formation of Asocolfarma. 

The central purposes of the meeting were to commence the formal beginnings of the creation of the Association and initiate an academic agenda which would position itself as the leading player in continuing education in encouraging “the investigation in experimental pharmacology and clinical pharmacology”.

In December 1975, the above listed purposes were implemented with the seminar “How to teach pharmacology”, carried out on the 11th and 12th of December with the support of Ascofarma and Icfes.

At 3pm on the 31st of March 1982 the second assembly of the ACF took place in the Grand Salon of Industrial Engineering of the Industrial University of Santander in Bucaramanga.  There, in the presence of 32 professionals dedicated to pharmacology, it was decided that the permanent home of the Association would be Bogotá and to move forward with the formalisation of the statutes that were to be consolidated in accordance with the guidelines established by national rules validated in the third assembly which took place in the Auditorium of the Department of Pharmacology in the Faculty of Sciences of the UN in Bogotá on the 12th of May 1984, with the participation of 41 professionals.

In that Assembly the census carried out by the ACF on professionals dedicated to pharmacology was presented; 130 professionals worked on the census in universities, National Government, Research Institutes and Private Industry.

On the 20th February 1985 the then Minister for Justice granted legal status to the Colombian Association of Pharmacology by Resolution 344 of 1985, signed by the Minister Enrique Parejo Gonzalez.

One of the achievements of the summit of he Colombian Association of Pharmacology was the organisation of the Panamerican and Latin-American Congress of Pharmacology in Cartagena in 1997.  At that event Enrique Núñez Olarte was honoured by the Panamerican Pharmacology community and The Enrique Núñez Olarte Scientific Prize was launched, a prize which is granted in national pharmacology congresses and until the current day is considered the highest acknowledgement in Colombia in pharmaceutical research.